Hall of Fame Finalists


The 2024 Finalists

The Colorado League of Charter Schools' annual Hall of Fame is a joyous celebration honoring members, leaders, and supporters who have significantly contributed to the charter school movement. Annually, we invite nominations from our community, and a dedicated committee thoroughly reviews the submissions. The winners are revealed during a special ceremony held in conjunction with our annual conference. We are delighted to highlight these remarkable individuals who have already distinguished themselves as outstanding contributors to the charter community across Colorado.

As we eagerly anticipate the upcoming ceremony, we're excited to share the current list of Finalists with you. Stay tuned for the announcement of this year's deserving winners at the special ceremony during our annual conference on Monday, February 26th, at 6 PM at the Marriott DTC. Registration is free but required (see the separate registration link (free) for Monday, February 26, 2024).

Leader of the Year Finalists: 

  • Josh Benson, Peak to Peak Charter School
  • Carol Bowar, Girls Athletic School of Denver
  • Caryn Braddy, Vision Charter Academy
  • Kendra Hossfeld, North Star Academy
  • Jessica Hunter, Pinnacle Charter School
  • Sarah Kiesewetter, Golden View Classical Academy
  • Hannah Reese, Colorado Early Colleges Aurora
  • Shane Voss, Mountain Middle School

Advocate of the Year Finalists: 

  • Sharla Butkovich, Colorado Early Colleges, Parent Group
  • Kimberly Gilmartin, Liberty Schools Initiative
  • Betsy Basch, Charter School Institute

Most Valuable Charter Contributor Finalists: 

  • Cortney Crouch, Golden View Classical Academy
  • Lisa Griffin, Stargate School
  • Leann Jiron, Vision Charter Academy
  • Brad Pippert, Stargate School
  • Russ Sojourner, The Classical Academy
  • Mark Wilson, The Academy of Charter Schools

Lifetime Achievement Award Finalists: 

  • Keith King, former State Senator and CEC Founder
  • Bill Kurtz, DSST Public Schools
  • Janet Thirlby, Janet Thirlby Consulting
  • Lynne Whitney, Stargate Charter School

Educator of the Year Finalists: 

  • Alfredo Beltran Aguirre, Colorado Early Colleges Aurora
  • Stephanie Barnett, Vision Charter Academy
  • Brooke Barton, Mountain Middle School
  • Lori Fisher, Animas High School
  • Kimi Hanson, Mountain Middle School
  • Tara Hedberg, CEC Parker
  • Florian Hild, Loveland Classical Schools
  • Kyle Kimmal, Denver Language School
  • Emilee Klausner, Cardinal Community Academy
  • Shannon Peace, Pinnacle Charter School
  • Scott Spear, Southwest Open School
  • Yacina Tamendjari, STEM School Highlands Ranch
  • Lacey Weber, Independence Academy