Charter Champions

Recognizing Rising Charter Student Leaders in Colorado

Charter Champions is a four month advocacy training program for a diverse group of charter high school students who aspire to be leaders in their community. Champions will define what it means to be a student leader through collaborating with their peers and promoting a culture of excellency.

We are seeking shining stars in grades 9-12 who go above and beyond and want to speak out on behalf of their charter communities. The League is looking for 30 high school students from across Colorado charters who both exemplify and promote the valuable role of charters in public education. 

We will profile each one of our Charter Champions on social media and celebrate them at the League’s Annual Conference. We’ll also provide them with valuable learning and advocacy opportunities, including cohort seminars, meeting with Colorado legislators, taking action for charter schools, and participating in our 2024 Advocacy Day.

Each Charter Champion will also receive:

  • A signed letter thanking them for promoting charter schools
  • A complimentary student pass to the League’s Annual Conference
  • A formal invitation to Advocacy Day
  • The opportunity to post a video supporting charter schools on the League’s website

Nominations can be submitted by teachers, school leaders, coaches or other charter school staff — anyone who wants to shine light on a deserving charter high school student who has made their community proud. Nomination will close October 14, 2023.

Please note: All nominators will serve as a sponsor to the individual(s) they nominate. They must be willing to relay important information and ensure winners can be present at key events, including Advocacy Day on Februrary 1, 2024.

Charter Champions Class of 2023

  • Carter Atwell ─ SkyView Academy
  • Kalaiah Cherry ─ DSST: Elevate Northeast High School
  • Cori Dove ─ SkyView Academy
  • Logan Haugestuen ─ Liberty Common High School
  • Alexander Hernandez-Gonzalez ─ Strive Prep-RISE
  • Yuna Kim ─ Academy of Arts and Knowledge
  • Vidhura Kumar ─ Prospect Ridge Academy
  • Abigail LaBue ─ Colorado Early Colleges Windsor
  • Zoell Lhomi Nuppa ─ Animas High School
  • Spencer Lynch ─ Liberty Common High School
  • Fatima Najar ─ Aurora Science and Tech High School
  • Ashley Natalia Valdez Barraza ─ Hope Online Learning Academy
  • Ariana Nungaray-Arias ─ STRIVE Prep-RISE
  • Kendall Powell ─ SkyView Academy
  • Alessandro Romero: Global Village Academy North
  • Marlene Sanchez De La Cruz ─ HOPE Online Learning Academy
  • Brayden Short ─ SkyView Academy
  • Mikah Sickau ─ Twin Peaks Classical Academy
  • Noah Stadler ─ Twin Peaks Classical Academy
  • Chelsea Thompson ─ The STEAD School
  • Emmett Tuttle ─ Rocky Mountain Deaf School
  • Kaylee Weickert ─ Windsor Charter Academy Early College High School
  • Ethan Wolfe ─ CEC Parker