Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Charter Friend Awards


Nominate a Charter Friend 

Does your charter school have an administrator, board member, business manager, teacher or other leader who is deserving of recognition? Does your charter school's authorizer demonstrate a high level of commitment to advocacy and support on behalf of charter schools? Do you know of an elected official or community leader who has demonstrated significant influence in public policy on behalf of charter schools? 

The Colorado League of Charter Schools welcomes nominations for the 2018 Charter Friend Awards to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to Colorado's charter public schools.  

The deadline for nominations is Friday, December 15, 2017

Award winners will be notified by January 31, 2018, and will be honored at the 2018 Colorado Charter Schools Conference on March 1-2, 2018.    


Charter School Leadership Award

The Charter School Leadership Award recognizes an individual directly involved with a charter school (e.g., board member, administrator, parent). Nominees should demonstrate significant influence in developing or maintaining a charter school, improving school accountability and performance, or driving other aspects of school excellence.


2017 winners: Lori Sheldon, Executive Director, Bromley East Charter School 


Charter School Operational Excellence Award

The Charter School Operational Excellence Award recognizes a charter school business/operations manager or CFO. Nominees should demonstrate exceptional leadership in and commitment to charter school operational excellence in areas such as finance, human resources, accounting, facilities, etc. The ideal nominee should also demonstrate a passion for charter school excellence and growth at large, and be engaged in the Colorado charter school operations management community.


2017 winner: Lynn Allen, Chief Financial Officer, Stargate School


Outstanding Charter School Teacher Award

The Outstanding Charter School Teacher Award recognizes a charter school teacher who is exceptionally dedicated to closing the achievement gap and preparing students for success now and into the future. Nominees should demonstrate a superior ability to teach and inspire in students a love of learning, and lead in collaboration with their colleagues and their charter school community to put student success in the forefront of their work.


2017 winner: Meghan MacDonald, 4th Grade Crew Leader, Downtown Denver Expeditionary School


Charter School Authorizer Award

The Charter School Authorizer Leadership Award recognizes an active or retired charter school authorizer (school district or Colorado Charter School Institute (CSI)) employee or administrator with a strong commitment to charter school success. Nominees should demonstrate a commitment to high levels of student achievement and advocacy on behalf of charter schools.


2017 winner: Durango School District 9-R 


Keith King Award for Public Policy

The Keith King Award for Public Policy recognizes an individual (e.g., state/local government official) who has demonstrated significant influence in the public policy arena. Nominees should be focused on promoting school choice, charter school development, funding equity, student achievement or other forms of support for charter schools and their students.


2017 winners: Senator Owen Hill | Representative Lang Sias | Senator Angela Williams 


Click here to learn more about the 2017 Charter Friend Award Recipients




Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal